86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

88 22re wont drive above 35mph

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2015, 09:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 22re wont drive above 35mph

Hey everyone, Newbie here! I suppose ill start with an intro and back story before I get to the problem. The name is Ian. Im 23 and live in Virginia Beach, Virginia. I recently bought a 88 Toyota pickup for $600. The engine had a rod knock but still drove decent. I drove it for about a week before the motor finally gave out. I purchased an used motor with ~100k on it and replaced just about everything on the outside of the motor. I got it started and it runs strong.
My issue is while im driving. It feels like it has no power! I cant get the truck above 30-35 mph. I floor it and it goes no where! It is throwing a CEL but I cant find the check connector anywhere! I set the timing with a light and by ear since I couldn't find the connect to jump it. Im sure the timing is off a bit but I don't think that is the issue. I feel like its a vacuum issue. Below are pics of the engine bay so someone can find this connector or point out any noticeable issues. I know it looks like a cluster of crap but that's how I got it. I need to get this running right before I start rerouting stuff and cleaning it up.

Old 04-12-2015, 04:07 PM

125 views and not a single comment?
Old 04-13-2015, 05:58 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
I moved you to the correct section. Check for vacuum leaks and here is info https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f199...l#post51760299 for the codes and Check Connector.
Old 04-13-2015, 06:40 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts