YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2006, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
InternetRoadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,154
Question 22RE timing chain installation?

I had to remove the cylinder head on my 22RE. Unfortunately, I neglected to mark the chain and the cam sprocket. The head is back on the engine, but I need to re-time the cam. This is what I did: I set crank to 0 degrees. Then, being careful to take all the slack from the timing chain, I positioned the cam sprocket with the dot straight up.

Is this an acceptable method? My timing chain does not have any bright links that I can see, and I can't see the crank sprocket anyway since the timing cover was never removed. The FSM seems insistant on using the bright link method. Any comments?
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
InternetRoadkill is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
Vendor Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 155
Make sure it's 0 degrees number 1 on tdc, not just 0 degrees. The tit on the cam at 12:00 and slip it on, then rotate the thing by hand. In theory if you do it like this you shouldn't have to worry about shinny links, a chain is a chain. Just curious why did you have to pull the head?
bodo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
YotaJunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by InternetRoadkill View Post
I had to remove the cylinder head on my 22RE. Unfortunately, I neglected to mark the chain and the cam sprocket. The head is back on the engine, but I need to re-time the cam. This is what I did: I set crank to 0 degrees. Then, being careful to take all the slack from the timing chain, I positioned the cam sprocket with the dot straight up.

Is this an acceptable method? My timing chain does not have any bright links that I can see, and I can't see the crank sprocket anyway since the timing cover was never removed. The FSM seems insistant on using the bright link method. Any comments?
I just did my timing chain last night. If you haven't removed your original chain, carefully remove it with the cam and crank sprockets and then count the number of links between the markers on the sprockets. If you don't want to fiddle around with the distributor, like I did, just make sure cylinder #1 is at TDC on the compression stroke, and then pop the dizzy in at 12 o'clock ( it'll spin counterclockwise about 35 degrees and point to #1). Even if you don't, you'll only be off by 180 degrees anyway, and it's just a matter of cranking the pulley another revolution and repeating.

I did that last night because I didn't set #1 at TDC on the compression stroke.

Troy
__________________
'95 4WD 22R-E 4Runner, 5spd, 242k kms, 4.56 gears, extended diff breather mod, bilstein shocks, Aisin manual hub swap, 1.25 rear coil spacer, 32" BFG's -- my DD
YotaJunky is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
InternetRoadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,154
Short answer, I had to pull the head to replace the head gasket.

The long answer is that the camshaft failed under mysterious circumstances after only 90 miles on it and left a mess on top of the head. I removed the head to check the oil passages. I wasn't able to find a definitive smoking gun, so I ended up installing a new cam and a new set of rockers after cleaning out the metal filings.

The damaged cam was installed correctly and had undergone the full break-in procedure as specified by the manufacturer, so I don't know what happened. It looks like it might have been a combination of little things. First, the ARP head studs are larger than the factory head bolts. On the 22RE, the cam lobes are lubricated by passing oil around one of the head bolts into the support blocks and then down thru the rocker shafts. It looks like the ARP studs may have restricted the oilflow somewhat. Second, there is some question about the surface hardness of the rocker faces and/or the camshaft lobes. After explaining the problem to the guys at LC engineering, they told me that some of the aftermarket cams and rockers have been known to have inferior surface hardness than the toyota factory parts. I replaced the rockers with factory units and replaced the cam with one of LC Engineerings offerings which they assured me was fully heat treated to toyota specs. I also went back to factory headbolts.

I ran out of daylight to finish up today, but tomorrow I'm going to fire it up and see what happens.
InternetRoadkill is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
Vendor Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 155
I've got an LC cam also, John in tech support is great. When you readjust your valves after breakin try 7 and 11 instead of 8 and 12. What cam did you use before?
bodo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
InternetRoadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by troy65 View Post
I just did my timing chain last night. If you haven't removed your original chain, carefully remove it with the cam and crank sprockets and then count the number of links between the markers on the sprockets. If you don't want to fiddle around with the distributor, like I did, just make sure cylinder #1 is at TDC on the compression stroke, and then pop the dizzy in at 12 o'clock ( it'll spin counterclockwise about 35 degrees and point to #1). Even if you don't, you'll only be off by 180 degrees anyway, and it's just a matter of cranking the pulley another revolution and repeating.

I did that last night because I didn't set #1 at TDC on the compression stroke.

Troy
I didn't remove the timing cover, so I can't see the crank sprocket pip mark to set the chain either by counting links or by using the bright links.

As it turns out, the 0 degree mark on the crank pulley is actually spot on for #1 TDC, so setting the crank to 0 is trivial.

The distributor is easy to set. Just set the crank to 8 degrees BTC (make sure the valves on #1 are closed for compression). Then insert the distributor so that the rotor is pointing more or less at the #1 plug wire. Finally set the reluctor points to match the points on the outer ring. The engine will be in time within a couple of degrees when you fire it.
InternetRoadkill is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
InternetRoadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodo View Post
I've got an LC cam also, John in tech support is great. When you readjust your valves after breakin try 7 and 11 instead of 8 and 12. What cam did you use before?
I'll definitely second that the guys at LC have great tech support. (Thanks again john!)

The previous cam was an Erson 268/268, .436 lift (T268-A).


The new cam:

20R/22R - Stage 2 Camshaft (PN 1022036 )
4WD / Pre-Runner / Hot Street 2WD (1500-5500 rpm)
Modified Carb or Throttle Body & 1 1/2" Header

--------------- Intake Exhaust
Valve Lash ---- .008 .012
Valve Lift ----- 460" 460"
Advertised Duration -- 290 290
Duration @ .050" -- 240 240
Lobe Center ------ 102 118

John recommended this cam for the automatic tranny and the factory EFI. We'll see how it works. It's a bit hotter than the Erson unit.
InternetRoadkill is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by InternetRoadkill View Post
Short answer, I had to pull the head to replace the head gasket.
Am I the only one who finds this hilarious?

I know you prob didn't mean to say that but I think I've found my sig
__________________
94' Pickup
all_terrain17 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
crackerjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cookeville tn.
Posts: 618
Short answer " you've been there done that"
Long answer I think I'm going there and doing that
crackerjack is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
InternetRoadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,154
Quick update: the new cam is in and running nicely. It's a lot quieter than the previous cam, and despite the longer duration, it seems to idle better too. We'll see if it holds up better than the last one.
InternetRoadkill is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 11:29 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
1022036, 22re, cam, camshaft, center, chain, factory, install, lcengineeringcom, lobe, slip, strokes, time, timing, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Chain 22re cweich 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 12-22-2006 04:12 PM
22re timing chain 4RunnerLVR86 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 5 10-07-2006 10:15 AM
Timing Chain, 22RE AH64ID 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 26 04-17-2006 12:27 PM
22re timing chain/set timing/rtv/headremoval brendonv 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 4 09-20-2005 06:18 AM
22re timing chain Brendan 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 2 04-25-2004 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2