84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

pinion seal

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2015, 02:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
pinion seal

Okay. I'm new to this solid axle business. Rather than crawl though years of these threads I want the up to date info on how to change one of these.

Bought a 1985 solid axle from a guy who never got around to his SAS project. I got it home, stripped off the rusty dust shields and bent tie rod. Got I it ready for a rebuild. Left it stored on jack stands in my second garage bay. Third member was supported by a separate jack stand. Borrowed that to change a buddy's CV axles. A week later I got back to sticking the jack stand under the now vertical third. Found gear oil all over the floor. Time to replace the pinion right?

Been trying to research how to do it properly.

Got confused.

Pirate 4x4 is a treacherous place for a mere layman and his vaguely specific Haynes manual.

Solid spacer vs crush ring? Please enlighten this guy. Preload? Torque specs...the hell?
Old 01-29-2015, 02:59 PM

Interested in this as well. Maybe ZUK will see this thread.
Old 01-30-2015, 02:58 AM

I certainly hope so! The rest of the axle is too easy to strip and rebuild. The pinion is the real bear trap in the glory hole though.

Watched a video where a guy uses an impact gun and on reassembly he stopped tightening on the first studder of the impact gun saying that would be the correct preload. That worried the hell out of me.
Old 01-30-2015, 09:39 AM

Received 607 Likes on 443 Posts
It has been my experience that the pinion nut can be tightened to at least 140fp without crushing the sleeve further and changing the existing preload.

'Your mileage may vary'