Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Transmission Commonality/Swap? 1979 Hilux and a 19__? SR5

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2014, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Transmission Commonality/Swap? 1979 Hilux and a 19__? SR5

Hey guys, this is my first post. I was really glad to find this forum, as I recently became the proud owner of a 79' Yota longbed, aka, "Teresa."

Anyways, I've done some rudimentary repairs and maintenance on her:
-oil and filter
-air filter x2 (stupid me forgot to clear out the entire air intake hose after putting the first filter in- found 4 dirt dobber nests)
-new slave and master cylinder (old one leaked dry within 3 weeks of driving her
-new water pump (seized up within a month, just was really full of congealed crud)
-other, assorted small repairs and general cleaning and maintenance

I have some experience with mechanics, and have been enjoying learning all about vehicles these past few years. Thankfully, I've been blessed with friends who know more than I, and are willing to help. Something goes wrong, I buy the part, and they help me (most of the time correctly) fix it.

Anywho, upon purchasing this beauty, I learned that my uncle has an old SR5 sitting in a shed, about an hour away. I took a look at it this thanksgiving, and its in pretty ok/bad shape. The chief problem with it is that it has been sitting with the hood up in a virtually open shed for the last 3 decades.

(sorry, this is a pretty long post- here's the question)

Teresa (1979) has been grinding a bit when I put her into reverse. I'm very careful and make sure that I'm stationary when doing so, but she still grinds a bit. Likewise, putting her into 1st and 2nd gear takes quite a bit of effort, or more so than I should think should be necessary.