Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Timing chain difficulty

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2008, 12:41 PM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
Timing chain difficulty -Photos added

Wow. I've been reading All Terrain17's timing chain/head gasket work. I'm getting a bit discouraged. If I've never done it before, should I pretty much expect that I'll do something wrong and have to tear it apart again?

What's been your luck with this job, if you'd never done it before? This truck isn't yet my daily driver, so I can take my time, but still...

Last edited by 83; 05-28-2008 at 06:47 AM.
Old 05-21-2008, 12:46 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
You didn't say anything about your overall mechanical ability, so I'll just say this: If you are a decent wrench, but just have not done this job before, you will be fine if you take your time and pay attention to detail. It is no walk in the park, but it is very doable.

If you have doubts as to your abilities, this might not be a project that you want to try to take on.
Old 05-21-2008, 02:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just follow the FSM step by step. Dont overlook anything just because you think you know how to do it. Most people have troubles getting the timing correct, they think they did something wrong in the assembly when it wont start up after.

Since this is your first time make sure you have more time than just a weekend to complete this task and taking your OWN pictures along the way can really be helpful.
Old 05-21-2008, 02:30 PM

Yeah, sorry about that. I've removed & replaced a transmission & clutch on a Toyota pickup.

I've done the timing belts, water pump, and oil pump on a 80's Subaru wagon. Somewhat similar to this job but you don't open up the engine to do it..I'm fine with removing & replacing whole parts, but the opening up of the engine, gaskets & heads with very specific torques etc. scares me a bit.