Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

How to change top end speed?

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 02:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking How to change top end speed?

Hi, I am new to yotatech, but am happy to be part of the family! Ok so first i will introduce you to my rig! I drive a 1981 Toyota Pickup and it is a 4x4, straight axles, 4 speed manual, long bed, but i am sure you guys know the wrap. Oh and the engine is a stock 22r. I won't go into too much detail about what i did to her, but here goes. I bought this truck last may for $320 with lots of work to be done! I bought an engine rebuild kit, bought rebuilt head for it, a new clutch kit with pressure plate and resurfaced the flywheel. Also I bought a complete gasket kit for it as well. Not to mention I had to replace the master cylinder and the slave cylinder too. so around around $1200-$1300 later (including multiple oil changes for water leaking into the oil reasons) with paint, I came out with practically a new factory 1981 toyota pickup! But, since I only have a four speed manual, it doesn't have a decent top end speed. I can hit around 65 without it starting to get loud, once i hit 70+ it starts to howl gradually more and more. but i have hit 85 in it but am sure that is bad for the engine... So, is it worth it to upgrade to a 5 speed manual, or where can i buy a new rear differential? but the fact of the matter is, is it worth doing? and how much difference will i experience if i upgrade? Thanks.

I got more pics if you guys wanna see. But last thing, if i where to sell it, what would be a good price? Has less than 4,000 miles on the engine after rebuild, total on the truck is around 194,000.
Old 02-17-2009, 03:48 PM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
pretty clean truck. and welcome to YT. I would say you could get $2-2.5K

-there have been a few recent threads on converting to a 5 speed, try going back through the threads of the last month or so..