Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Gear Wrench

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2006, 02:42 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GearWrench

What is everyone's opinion on GearWrench's ratcheting wrenches? I work as a mechanic part time during the school year and full time during the summer and have never used them. My dad owns the shop and I have been using his Craftsman ratcheting wrenches, and now I want a set of my own. He says that Gear Wrench is his favorite brand, but I have never used them. I looked today and found out that Lowes carries them, but I am sceptical about tools from Lowes. I have had a hard time returning Kobalt stuff after breaking them.
Thanks

Last edited by HarrisonP; 04-04-2006 at 03:12 PM.
Old 04-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Contributing Member

I have a cheap set of gearwrenches from costco and they're awesome. I haven't had any problems with them at all, even using them with a 3 foot breaker bar. I've had them for three years. I should also state that I have a set of matco ratchet wrenches and a set of craftsman ratchet wrenches and the cheapo gear wrenches are my favorite.

Last edited by 4runnermt; 04-04-2006 at 02:49 PM.
Old 04-04-2006, 03:12 PM
Contributing Member

Is it the GearWrench brand? When I buy tools I like to buy nice ones. Tools are something that can keep for a long time, especially if they have a lifetime warranty.
Old 04-04-2006, 03:18 PM
Contributing Member

Yeah, they're the gear wrench brand. Costco had them 3 years ago around chrismas.
Old 04-04-2006, 04:00 PM
Contributing Member

Oh, I didn't know Costco sold them. Then again I usually go to Sam's club. I am not a Costco member.
Old 04-04-2006, 05:19 PM
Contributing Member

i have a set of craftsman gear wrenches... the kind with the reverse... theyre my favorite tool in the tool box. I use them everyday!
Old 04-04-2006, 06:21 PM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by HarrisonP