Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

86 22r pickup struggling when idling, shuts off

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2018, 06:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 22r pickup struggling when idling, shuts off

Hi. I'm new here obviously. This is probably an annoying question, and I did do a few searches on this before asking, but there are so many answers, I'd love to see all the options AGAIN here at once.
I just got this 86 pickup, automatic. It shut off at/approaching a red light twice, right before that I could feel it struggling. Its happened when it was cold and hot.
I should say I am a mega newb and have only done easy things like bleeding brakes and oil changes before this...soo bear with me.
Thank you!
Old 04-21-2018, 07:29 PM

Received 62 Likes on 57 Posts
Ok welcome.

You said it struggled only twice? Will it not run now? Will it run fine while under power and then struggle when idles down?

Have you changed the fuel filter? Have you given it a tuneup, (air filter, plugs, wires, cap and rotor). Checked timing? How many miles on the motor/rig? Was this a brand new thing after it had been perfect? Has it been "good enough" that you don't need to mess with it but now had a big thing so its fix it time? Whats you mechanical ability.

With these older trucks its often just a wiring issue and the wires get brittle at this age. Having a multimeter for help is a good thing.
Old 04-25-2018, 07:12 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The automatic transmission trucks did have a dashpot on the carburetor for speed control. I don't have a lot of details as my truck was a manual transmission. It is something to look at.

If you have the FSM (factory service manual), you can look under the fuel system for the functionality of that part. It is not likely that an aftermarket repair manual like Chilton or Hayes would have detail info on it.