Flickr BBcode changing after post - YotaTech Forums

Notices
Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

Flickr BBcode changing after post

Old 04-18-2013, 11:46 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flickr BBcode changing after post

I'm having trouble getting Flickr's BBcode to work correctly. I paste it in my post and the forum software reformats it AFTER I post, removing all the image embeds.

Here's the code I put in:



When I submit the post, it looks like this:



Going back in to edit the post, my code has been changed to this by the forum software:




This has only been happening recently. What's going on?

Last edited by IB Mila; 06-14-2013 at 02:29 PM.
Ocell is offline  
Old 05-06-2013, 05:02 PM
  #2  
Registered User
 
diableri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for posting this, just happened to me today. I see there was a work around, but will keep looking.
diableri is offline  
Old 06-06-2013, 06:38 PM
  #3  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also having this issue. How does one post pics using Flickr anymore? Beyond frustrating....
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 10:28 PM
  #4  
Sponsor
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,167
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
per Flickr's FAQ:

Where is the HTML code and photo file link?

The HTML code to embed a photo in a web page that you used to find on the All Sizes page is now only in the Share menu on the photo, to the left of the More menu. We now also include BBCode! (standard message board code)

There are a few cases where the code may not be available: 1) If the photo is restricted. 2) If that person has turned off "Share this" or access to original files.

The direct link to a photo file is no longer shown on the page. Per the Flickr Community Guidelines "pages on other websites that display content hosted on flickr.com must provide a link from each photo or video back to its page on Flickr." Linking directly to the photo file doesn't do this.
Tofer is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 02:42 PM
  #5  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey Tofer,

Thanks for the reply. That's all on Flickr's side of things, though. It doesn't affect what's happening here at Yotatech.

You can see in my original post that I have no problem getting the generated BBCode from Flickr. That first chunk of code is what I get from Flickr's sharing code feature. For example:



The problem is that the forum software Yotatech runs on is changing the BBCode after I post, removing the image embeds. Unless Flickr has access to the database file for the forum, Flickr doesn't control how my BBCode tags look. The most they could do is serve a blank image if they wanted to block embedding.


Do you have any idea why our Flickr embed code is being modified by Yotatech's forum software, and how to fix it?

Thanks again.

Last edited by Ocell; 06-12-2013 at 02:45 PM. Reason: added code screenshot
Ocell is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 02:45 PM
  #6  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Last edited by IB Mila; 06-14-2013 at 02:29 PM.
Ocell is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 02:46 PM
  #7  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The above post is what happened when I pasted the code I took the screenshot of in to the forum here.

What's strange is, if I strip the JPEG URL out of Flickr's code, it will embed fine by itself.


Last edited by Ocell; 06-12-2013 at 02:48 PM.
Ocell is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 04:44 PM
  #8  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wait, exactly how did you have to MODIFY the paste to make it actually work as it is intended? I would seriously love to know just whats going on and why we arent able to use it as we have always been able to in the past
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 06-12-2013, 05:11 PM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 2DoorJoRunner View Post
wait, exactly how did you have to MODIFY the paste to make it actually work as it is intended? I would seriously love to know just whats going on and why we arent able to use it as we have always been able to in the past
I'm 100% with you.

To get the image to embed successfully I used only the URL for the JPG inside of a standard BBcode IMG tag.

But that's not a real solution for a few reasons:
1. It's manual. The whole point of Flickr providing the BBcode is to make embedding photos quick.
2. It doesn't have the photo title and link back to Flickr.
3. Manually embedding images this way technically violates Flickr's terms of service since there's no link back to the Flickr photo page.

I just posted the image with the IMG tag to show that Flickr isn't doing anything on their server to block the images from embedding, since I can do it manually without issue. The Yotatech forum software is modifying our standard Flickr code after we post, removing the image embed. And that's no good.
Ocell is offline  
Old 07-07-2013, 07:01 PM
  #10  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I guess someone at Yotatech changed something, or a plugin got updated... now there's a new problem. Things still aren't working correctly.

If I use the Flickr-supplied BBCode, I think the forum software is seeing the flickr URL in the code and trying to be smart by embedding the image automatically. The problem is, the Flickr BBCode is already trying to embed the image. So now, the image gets embedded twice. Also, for some reason, the image gets stretched to strange proportions, ruining the image.

It seems like it's seeing the Flickr urls and trying to automatically embed just like it does with Youtube URLs you add without any tags.

Here's an example.

The code I put in (should be one visible image surrounded by a link, with text afterward also clickable):



And the result:

by Ocell, on Flickr


[Update]
And the Yotatech forum software has changed the code in my post to this:

Last edited by Ocell; 07-07-2013 at 07:04 PM. Reason: Changed Code Update
Ocell is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:20 PM
  #11  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you so much for articulating this in a way I can not. I hope this is noticed by the mods.
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 07-13-2013, 01:42 PM
  #12  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I always use quick reply, but I just noticed some options in the full reply page. I feel kinda stupid for not seeing these earlier. I'm going to try posting the Flickr embed code without these two options checked in "Additional Options"

Automatically parse links in text
Automatically embed media (requires automatic parsing of links in text to be on).




Hidden Falls Mud to Hubs by Ocell, on Flickr

Last edited by Ocell; 07-13-2013 at 01:44 PM.
Ocell is offline  
Old 07-13-2013, 01:43 PM
  #13  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Ocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Great! It seems like this fixes it. If you want to use Flickr embed code, make sure you're not using Quick Reply, and disable the options to parse links and automatically embed media.

Ocell is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 06:49 PM
  #14  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I must try this! Thanks Man!
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 06:59 PM
  #15  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 06:59 PM
  #16  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ill have to mess with it. I didnt get it quite right.
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 07:25 PM
  #17  
Registered User
 
2DoorJoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So i dont understand why it reduced the resolution or why it double posted the same picture. Also, I found the option to click off the parse links however I did not see an option to take off automatically embed media.
2DoorJoRunner is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
icentropy
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
17
03-02-2017 01:38 PM
Flying91
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section)
39
02-03-2017 06:37 PM
the1998sr5
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
6
07-16-2015 07:20 AM
smiley52
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
8
07-11-2015 06:16 AM
wilbertd
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
2
07-06-2015 08:39 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Flickr BBcode changing after post


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: