The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

How to Convert a 3rd Gen 4Runner from 2WD to 4WD

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2004, 12:03 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to Convert a 3rd Gen 4Runner from 2WD to 4WD

Well guys, as im sure some of you have been speculating, I will be doing a 4WD conversion on my 98 2WD 4Runner.

With the help of Steve Schaefer, I have been gathering parts for the past 6 months or so. on Friday (March 27th) I will be heading out to AZ to get these things installed along with maybe a few other things.

Basically what I will be using is the entire front drivetrain from a rolled 97 Tacoma with manual hubs. they parts have approximately 60,000 miles on them. I then found a W59 tranny with transfer case from another rolled tacoma with only 30K miles on it. Driveshafts I got one from Creed (cstary), and i got the front one from a junkyard that Bruce referred me to.

And yesterday i just picked up my front diff from drivetrain direct to have 4.88s installed.

We are also setting up a Webcam much like Rob (WATRD) did for his SAS on his Tacoma. so if you fine folks would like to see this beast transform, just go ahead and hit this link:

http://www.fastq.com/~sschaefer/Webcam/

ok, i guess now its time to answer any questions, something like "well why dont you just sell yours and buy a 4x4?" well im ready for what you guys got

-Casey
Old 03-24-2004, 12:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sounds like a good time. Steve is a hoot.

Why not just hang a solid axle? I am not too familiar with the 2 to 4wd differences as far as what hardware is or is not there, but it seems like a lot of work for a truck that will end up staying IFS.

On that page, it also says Steve will have leaves in the rear before Moab. Less than a year before a solid axle, you saw it here first!
Contributing Member

Ok...

Why don't you just sell yours and buy a 4x4?

Contributing Member