Early Land Cruisers All solid front axles and Land Cruiser series - 25, 40, 45, 55, 60, 62, and 80

just picked up a 1986 need tips

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2013, 05:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
just picked up a 1986 need tips

hey guys, i just picked up a 1986 land cruiser this morning for free on craigslist. i am new to land cruisers so does anyone have any tips or suggestions of stuff i should be checking out? not quite sure what im doing with it yet, it does have mouse damage in the interior, i dont think its run in at least 3 years and has been off the road since 2006. what do i need to know about these? if possible this would be a great truck to put back on the road and drive. what kind of mpg do these get. its got the straight 6 manual transmission. is it a 4 speed or 5 speed transmission?
thanks for any help!
Old 11-23-2013, 06:24 PM
Contributing Member

Received 178 Likes on 124 Posts
Lots of great info on ih8mud.com specifiy for LC's
Old 11-23-2013, 06:31 PM

you got it for free? post some pics, if you wanna sell it I could triple what you got in it!
Old 11-23-2013, 08:46 PM

Ill have to check out ih8mud.com thanks for the tip! And as for selling it, I told the previous owner I would at least try and get it running again. Id like a chance get into before I make any decision of what to do with it in the end. Id hate to see it sit and rot or go to the scrap yard
Old 11-24-2013, 06:24 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I presume it's an FJ60 wagon. 4-spd trans, 4.10 gears, 2F engine. Near bulletproof drivetrain, but the bodies tend to rust. Rear quarters, tailgate, roof seams, etc. Not to mention the underside, frame and everything down below.

It's a simple system, so it shouldn't be to hard figuring what's wrong since it's not running. I'm sure it needs some cleaning of fuel system and carb. Not to mention all the usual for sitting vehicles, oil, coolant, greasing everything, checking all the rubber stuff for dry-rotting, etc.