Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Towing capability

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2017, 02:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing capability

Searching for a 1st gen tacoma double cab 4x4. I have a boat that i tow to a local ramp and wondered if this would tow ok. Its a malibu ski wake boat. Fully loaded and gassed im at 4400 lbs with about 375 tongue weight. Would the double cab with 3.4L tow this with 2 to 4 people in the truck? Im looking at no more than 5 miles one way most trips with about 30 one way a few times a season.
Old 09-19-2017, 04:17 PM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
i have been towing for 35 years, personally i don't go close to the max weight rating of a tow vehicle, no matter the distance.. have the 2nd batch of people take another ride
Is the truck properly equipped with a class III+ hitch? properly maintained brakes or neglected? Lots of variables..
are you proficient at towing? I have seen guys that go out and buy an F350 that think they can tow the titanic but have no frigging clue how to tow or that physics take over and don't realize stopping distances increase with the 18K toy hauler they just hooked up
found a few links

3705 lbs
http://trailers.com/tow-capacity/200...eCab_3786.html

another source said this
Gen 1 Tacoma (1995.5-2004)

Gen 1 trucks came with three engine options.

The 2.4L I4 (available only in the 5 lug 2wd (non pre-runner) trucks)
142 hp @ 5,000 rpm
160 lb.-ft. @ 4,000 rpm
Max. Towing capacity 3,500 lbs.
Max. Tongue weight 350 lbs.

The 2.7L I4 (Standard in all pre-runners and in 4x4 regular and xtra-cab trucks)
150 hp @ 4,800 rpm
177 lb.-ft. @ 4,000 rpm
Max. Towing capacity 3,500 lbs.
Max. Tongue weight 350 lbs.

The 3.4L V6 (Standard on the s-runner, and 4x4 double cab, and available in xtra-cab and double cab pre-runners as well as the xtra-cab 4x4)
190 hp @ 4,800 rpm
220 lb.-ft. @ 3,600 rpm