Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Mouse Entry Points

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2018, 10:39 AM

Received 68 Likes on 63 Posts
Mouse Entry Points

I've been running a trapline in my 97' SR5 4R Plow truck for a few years now, I don't use it much during the summer, no food in it except the necessary bait, and its clean inside, but I consistently get mice around or near the HVAC blower, I have also had to remove the blower to remove a nest twice, I keep good tabs on it. Recently this summer I had mice move into my HVAC blower on my Mint 99' Limited at work due to the commercial garbage in the area, I got them the same day they moved in luckily and removed the blower to evict them, and then began a trapline in the 99' 4R aswell and undercoated the area around the hood hinges, I also undercoated the HVAC intake area above the blower, no more mice so far, but I thought I would see if a physical barrier would be a more permanent solution. I decided to remove the wipers and hood cowling, and proceeded to undercoat that area aswell, then I added adhesive steel roofing valley gasket to these locations so they didn't have a runway or direct entry into the HVAC system. I'm convinced the undercoat works well as a deterrent if it hasn't washed off, but the physical barrier, although only foam, should be a more permanent solution, the foam really squeezes down to be solid, you can see below the locations I placed it to be most effective, time will tell, but so far all my traps remain empty.. Keeping the HVAC set on "recirculate" did stop the blower nests, but didn't stop mice from getting in. Any other points of entry that I'm missing?.

Point of entry

Last edited by Malcolm99; 12-19-2018 at 10:42 AM.
Old 12-19-2018, 01:45 PM

Received 607 Likes on 443 Posts
All you can do is your best. I really don't think that it is possible to keep 'em out entirely.