Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

make my own rock sliders !!

Old 02-24-2006, 05:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
make my own rock sliders !!

I was thinking about making my own sliders. Can't be too tough after looking at the many available options/wall thickness's out there on the market.
I have my own mig welder and think I can make a damn nice pair that will do the job. Besides...I'm a finish carpenter by trade...and, if I apply the same, I can make some nice ones.

I'm curious though. Mainly on the thickness of the tubing used. 1/4" - 5/16 wall I'm guessing would do the trick rather well. I was also thinking the square wall would be the best suited for the purpose due to the impact strength against all the angles of the sliders in general.
I've got a friend who does mufflers who can do the bends for me which appears to be the critical part of the whole look/strength of them too. But I was thinking that they way they mostly lay out is for appearance....ie..angled to the under body and as tight [somewhat] to the rocker panels/sills as you can get.

If you can recommend anything in the building process that may make the layout more sense, please.....do tell.

This might just be my next project.

Thanks Guys...
Old 02-25-2006, 06:20 AM

Hmmm.....already 45 members looked at my post and not one reply.
What, is this topic voodoo ??
Old 02-25-2006, 06:46 AM

sliders

Go for it.
Its not like you are building a roll cage. I built a pair for my 1st gen and I am an amatur fabricator for sure. I used scheld 40 pipe for the first pair and I am now planning on building a pair for our 3rd gen 4runner.. I am thinking 1.5" square 1/4" wall would be pretty sweet.

-J
Old 02-25-2006, 06:47 AM
Contributing Member