95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Engine Mods??

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2005, 11:37 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Mods??

Hello again!!

As previously posted I will be picking up a 1997 ( will know tomorrow ) limited, fully loaded with a 5 speed...

I have been reading through all the posts I could on engine mods... I am still left with a few questions...

TRD S/C... Does the kit come with everything you need?? I have lots of experience with SB ford mods... and when you do a SC, you need larger flow injectors and all kinds of cool other things... so this leads me to ask about this kit... I see LOTS of guys running it... so it must be a good kit a assume... see you need colder plugs... how bad does it kill millage?? and do you need permium fuel??

Headers... I think I will have to do them... I see this will not be the most power gainer... but one of my best friends has a 88 runner 3L and he has been talking about headers for the longest time... we even had the perfect chance when we put an engine in it 8 months back.... but it has not happened yet... anyhow... back on topic... what brand are you all running?? I see there are 4 options... only have expeience with TRD and JBA headers...

Cams... see a cool post about 5VZ cams.... and a local guy to me too... wonder if this will be a good option for me??

exhaust... am thinking 40 series flowmaster... probably SIDO....

What else... the 5VZ build is the first one I have done.... I just completed healping a friend do a FI swap in a 84 PU... but thats about the most complex toy thing I have done.... Once the runner is happy, next ( 2007 ) years project will be the MR2... hehehehehe...

again... I thank you all for the help you will provide... this site rocks....!!!

cheers
Bob
Old 12-27-2005, 12:19 AM

Congrats on picking up a new 4runner...(maybe!)
Here is a brief respose

TRD S/C