95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

correlation between power steering and rear abs on 2nd gen

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2003, 05:51 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question correlation between power steering and rear abs on 2nd gen

This is in regards to my 90 4Runner:

I read that the rear ABS uses the power steering fluid for pressure. My power steering has been leaking, but I think its fixed now. I was going to bleed it, but according to the book, I'd have to bleed the ABS system too, which is something Toyota should do.
Anyone else had this done? Does it help your brakes, especially the rear, work better?

I also read in my Toyota owners manual that the power steering pump should use Dexron II auto trans fluid. I've been putting synthetic power steering fluid in for a couple of years now. Aside from the leak, I've had no problems. Is this affecting the ABS as well?

Also, if I put the brake peddle all the way on the floor(even just sitting still) I get a buzzing noise from under the dash. Any ideas what that is?
Thanks for the info.
Old 03-02-2003, 06:02 PM
Contributing Member