Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

3.4 Water Pump Replacement....Too Corroded For Molded Gasket??

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2016, 09:49 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
3.4 Water Pump Replacement....Too Corroded For Molded Gasket??

Hi folks,
Doing the water pump on a '99 T4R and I got a good OEM Aisin replacement that has the pressed steel and molded gasket. Problem is that I think the block surface is too corroded as you can see by the pics. I have never used this type of gasket before. Just the run of the mill composite type.
Do you guys think this one will conform to the corroded groove that is just about where the molded lip will reside?
If not I will just goop up the regular style. I sure would like to use this one but not at the expense of having to get back in there if it leaks.

Thanx!

Old 01-14-2016, 12:25 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Clean the engine side up .

I use the Roloc Pads for Aluminum If not Scotch Bright pads work.

That should clean up nice and smooth.
Old 01-14-2016, 06:52 AM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
The gasket shown should work just fine. It would likely be better than "gooping up the regular style". But some properly applied RTV would probably work best(on its own). That's what I would(and do) use. It's what the FSM says to use as well.
Old 01-14-2016, 07:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by MudHippy
The gasket shown should work just fine. It would likely be better than "gooping up the regular style". But some properly applied RTV would probably work best(on its own). That's what I would(and do) use. It's what the FSM says to use as well.
Just to be clear, that FSM was written before Toyota redesigned the pump to use the gasket, instead of the groove and FIPG goop that came from the factory. Presumably, they would not have redesigned it if it worked all that well.