95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2001 4Runner questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2004, 02:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2001 4Runner questions

Hello,

I'm a newbie with a 2001 Runner. I have 2 questions

1) I have the infamous "clunk" in the rear end after releasing brakes at a complete stop. I lubed all universals and the slip joint. I'm not sure how much grease is supposed to go into the slip joint. I gave it 18 pumps. I didn't see any movement of the joint or grease being expelled. What do you guys think? Should I grease more or have I over greased. How do you know the proper amount of grease to add? Anyone pump in more than I have?

2) The brakes are extremely touching during stop and go in-town driving. Is this just a characteristic of this model 4-runner?

Thanks,
John
Old 08-15-2004, 02:40 PM

Originally Posted by skoobahead
Hello,

I'm a newbie with a 2001 Runner. I have 2 questions

1) I have the infamous "clunk" in the rear end after releasing brakes at a complete stop. I lubed all universals and the slip joint. I'm not sure how much grease is supposed to go into the slip joint. I gave it 18 pumps. I didn't see any movement of the joint or grease being expelled. What do you guys think? Should I grease more or have I over greased. How do you know the proper amount of grease to add? Anyone pump in more than I have?

2) The brakes are extremely touching during stop and go in-town driving. Is this just a characteristic of this model 4-runner?

Thanks,
John
The infamous "clunk" is usually a u-joint. Even if you get down there and feel for play, and don't feel any, the joint can still be bad. Sometimes they only show under load, at least when they first start.

I'd change out my u-joint(s) and see if it goes away. If not, you have a trail spare. hehe

You think it's something other than a u-joint?