Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

1999 Tacoma Rear Pinion Seal Leak

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2017, 01:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 Tacoma Rear Pinion Seal Leak

I know there has been some posting on this but I wanted to start my own thread just to see if anyone could help. I have a 1999 Tacoma 2.7L 4WD 240,000. Recently, the connection of the drive shaft and rear differential started leaking so I went ahead and replaced the rear pinion seal with a duralast seal. When I removed the pinion nut I did all the marking for its alignment and tightened it back up to spec after I put the new seal in. Everything seemed fine, however the darn thing is still slinging gear oil all over the bottom of the truck and is still leaking. Anyone have any thoughts? I'm no expert here, but I can do simple repairs.

BTW - when I removed the old seal there were pieces of it stuck to the metal plate that I had to lightly sand off and the plate showed a light level of rust buildup. Any and all help is appreciated.
Old 08-09-2017, 02:23 PM

Are you sure the leak isn't at the end where the driveshaft meets the axle? When I hit 220K I had the same problem, oil slinging all over the place. Thought it was the one you replaced but ended up being the one at the axle hub. Diff fluid covered the whole thing so it was hard to tell at first.
Old 08-09-2017, 03:55 PM