Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

1997 tacoma hard starting

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2017, 03:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 tacoma hard starting

I have a 97 Tacoma 3.4 5 speed. Cold starts great. But after it's been driven it takes a lot to get it started again. Its only random. Sometimes it will fire right back up. Other times cranks a lot. Which it's be doing lately. No check engine lights. Runs great. Just the starting issue. Any help would be great. I'm new to the tacomas.
Old 06-06-2017, 03:46 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
couple links to get you started

No pun intended. But here's a quick search:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f2/9...ime-start-5383

Can also search on starter 3.4 v6 and see where that leads you...worn contacts if I can recall what I read.

Make the internet work for you my friend and you might save some dough. But take what you get with a grain of salt.
Old 07-16-2017, 07:02 AM

I've done lots of searching. And can't find anything relating to mine. Starter seems to spin fine. The problem has become random. I thought it was once the truck is warm. Now it can be anytime. I've noticed when it happens I can smell gas strong before it starts. Thought I could smell fumes from the charcoal canister so I changed it and it didn't help any. Once it starts it runs great and no lack of power. No obvious gas leaks but it is soaked in undercoat and hard to tell. Just looking to see if anyone had any similar problems. I have a parts rig I can swap stuff off.
Old 07-16-2017, 08:18 AM

Could check fuel pressure. Think there's a tool you can rent out.

If there's low fuel pressure or you don't find anything and still have issues, my next thought would be to take down the fuel tank to check the components.

This assumes battery, alternator, starter, connections are all good.
Old 07-16-2017, 11:44 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Leaky injectors fouling the plugs .