86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

m0nst3rd0's 91 v6 XtraCab Build-up thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2013, 09:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
m0nst3rd0's 91 v6 XtraCab Build-up thread

Aloha, well first off Im a rookie here on the forums. I spend most of my time wrenching. You can call me MB.

So here's the story about the truck.

In 91 the truck was originally bought for a DD. About 3 years later the second owner took over the paperwork and had done some work over the years to the truck including K&N Performance Cold Air Intake, Aftermarket Headers, 4" Stage 2 Procomp lift, 5.29 gears

The previous owner knew an injector was leaking and didnt pay much attention to the issue. Well what turned out to be a nice drive out of the country and into the town surely went the wrong direction when an Engine bay fire broke out. The Kauai Fire Dep took care of the emergency and we handled the towing of the truck to my Dads house where it ended up.

It was toasted! (Sorry Lost Pics on old CPU) Radiator/Fan/Shroud melted. Wire harness melted all the way up to the firewall. Pretty much the whole passenger side was charred, including charcoal canister and some vaccumm lines.

A few parts were replaced while my dad swapped intake plenums with new wire harnesses. Including radiator, Refurbed Injectors and Misc hoses and lines.

We were told the Engine was new with about 60000 miles/160xxx on truck so my dad thought hey fix the leaky injector and put out the fire and we're good to go.

Well ˟˟˟˟ happens and he never thought to do a oil change and he ended up throwing a rod with no to low oil .

So guess what? If you figured im the Lucky one to yank out the 3.0 then give me some thumbs up! Got the engine out today in between the rain logging about 5hrs well spent figuring out how the Japanese designed this thing to be removed! Thumbs up for giving it a go!
m0nst3rd0's 91 v6 XtraCab Build-up thread-bck1y4c.jpg