84-85 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

1985 Back to the Future Build

Old 11-24-2016, 10:47 PM

Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts
They did a great job on the metal work!
Old 12-13-2016, 01:17 AM
T85

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
A few things I wanted to change was the front windshield trim and the fender trim and change them from chrome to black.

The fender trim was a pretty easy fix. It was removed easily and I sanded it, used Rustoleum Auto primer and Auto Black spray paint. I then hit it was Rustoleum Satin Finish and Clear Coated it for added protection. It did the job to receive the look I wanted and the satin finish gives a nice contrast to the glossy body finish.

Last edited by T85; 12-13-2016 at 01:39 AM.
Old 12-13-2016, 01:30 AM
T85

The front windshield trim was a bit trickier to change out. #1 I would have to pull off the trim, which I have no experience doing. #2 the trim was already bent in several places and pulling off the windshield, requiring some work to fix, clean up and repainting #3 finding the replacement trim in black or in usable condition was not happening. Then it was suggested by local guy who also has a Marty Mcfly Dream Truck, to use a Black Universal Molding to achieve the look. Luckly, I found a vintage car glass replacement shop nearby. In addition, the owner use to work for Toyota in the 1980s repairing the windshields to these particular trucks and was extremely familiar and knowledgeable regarding the vehicle and it parts. Before the install of the new glass and molding, I ordered a custom TOYOTA decal to slap on the windshield.

Old 12-13-2016, 01:36 AM
T85