Diesel Swaps Diesel engines

OM617.952 into a 1990 v6 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2017, 07:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OM617.952 into a 1990 v6 4Runner

Moving my thread from peachparts to here so it might be more useful.

Howdy all,

I've been working seasonally for two years and living out of my '90 the whole time. Play in the summers, ski in the winters and this fall I had the time to do a major upgrade to the living situation.

Over the years, this low mileage beast has had the standard problems fixed, and now I've got a small budget to do a couple upgrades to make it more liveable. I use it as a snowmobile in the winter, and have a full complement of heavy chains. I removed the AC system since it has been dry in the 5 years I've owned it and don't need it in my climate.

I also found a 12v small diesel boat heater from Planar to heat the area in the winter. Its not planned to be a full time heaters, just mornings and evenings to make it comfortable to sleep and defrost the glass. It will be mounted either in the grill along with the fuel tank where air intake and exhaust will be routed into the AC/heater blower motor box, or infront of the spare tire under the body and will vent up into the drain holes in the floor of the bed. Still waiting for it to arrive and then will fabricate the ducting systems for air and fuel intake and exhaust.

Here's a picture of the interior at the moment.

Along the course of things, I've decided to preemptively repower the 4runner with a MB OM617.952 engine before I need to do the headgasket again on this crappy 3vze. This is on a '90 4runner with the r150 transmission