Engine Swaps Swapping an engine in your Toy, here is where to learn how

New to Engine Swaps

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2012, 07:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Engine Swaps

I am really new to all this, but does anyone else have any issue putting a Chevy engine in a Toyota? It just seems wrong to me.

Anyhow, I am also looking for a good swap for my stock 86 22r w/manual trans. I was looking at the 3rz, or a 22RET? Any thoughts? I'd like to stay with a Toyota engine.

With these swaps, is it necessary to upgrade the clutch, and trans to handle the added power?

Thanks.
Old 06-13-2012, 08:12 AM

personally if your thinking about doing a chevy engine at all you might consider doing the 1uz-fe swap from a lexus ls400. it has great power, its toyota and you can find TONNES of write-ups on what you need to do the swap.

I am pretty sure you have to go to an HD clutch when you do the swaps. I always use automatics when I switch motors since it takes the shock out of the system.
Old 06-14-2012, 10:35 AM

97 Toyota Tacoma 2.7 liter to 350 chevy

I was just wondering how hard it actually is to put a chevy motor in a toyota. I'm only 19 and I really want the ability to go where chevy's go and I can't do that because my toyota doesn't have the power to turn tires bigger than 33s.
Old 06-14-2012, 01:29 PM

well if you don't swap the axles and get super strong diffs. The low end torque of the Chevy v8 will just break stuff with the 35s or bigger. extreme4x4 did a build with one and stated the same thing. The 2jz motor from the supra and the 1uz from the Lexus both have the power to turn big mudders fast. If you want outright torque. Go with a 7mgte or turbo 2jz and laugh at the guys that scorn imports. No matter what, axles will need big upgrades for the extra power.

Chevy motor to a Toyota
1. 3 inch body lift
2. Custom bent tubular headers
3. Transmission adaptor
4. Custom wiring or carb for fuel ( I like stand alone engine management)