Off Road Trip Planning, Expeditions, Trips, & Events Discussion pertaining to scheduling trail runs and outings

Costa Rica by way of Mex. and Cent. Am.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2010, 02:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Costa Rica by way of Mex. and Cent. Am.

Not sure that I'm posting this in the right place, but here goes.

I am a student in the Natural Resources Dept. at Hocking College in Nelsonville, Oh. I have the opportunity to spend winter quarter in Costa Rica (Jan-Mar, 2011).

Long story short, I want to drive down there and back. I own a '95 runner that is essentially bone stock. It's a 3.0L w/auto trans.

Mods: I plan on 4:10s and ARB Air Lockers (front and rear), fabricating front and rear high clearance bumpers w/reese style recievers for a winch mount, a roof rack and front and rear spare tire hangers. (I weld) I am not new to wheelin' or yotas (owned 2 fj40s), but am new to the 4runner.

Also I am a little longer in the tooth than most students (will have had my 40th B-day before the trip). Any advice from anyone who has been south of the boarder would be much appriciated. Additionally any words on mods not concidered that have worked (or not) that might help. Look forward to going and will post pics and maybe blog it.

Jay
Old 04-07-2010, 06:00 PM

I've driven Connecticut to Southern Baja in a 4Runner. 4Runner is the perfect vehicle for the trip, parts were readily available in Mexico.

Try this site for more tips.
http://www.drivetosouthamerica.com/index.html
Old 04-09-2010, 05:55 AM

Thanks Todos,

Great link and a wealth of information. Also good to know there's a source of parts south of the boarder.
Old 04-09-2010, 09:56 AM

Lots of 4runners running around Mexico/Central America is that's any indication.
Old 05-06-2010, 02:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
CR trip

It's been quite a while but I've ridden--as a kid--several times both down and up from Costa Rica (we lived there from 1969-1974). I travel a fair amount in Mexico now.