General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

86 Toyota 4runner electrical problem plz help

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2015, 06:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 Toyota 4runner electrical problem plz help

So im a newb here but I've been visiting this site for quite some time and getting help with past issues. Thanks everyone for that, my problem today I need help with. I have a 1986 Toyota 4runner dlx model with the 22re. This morning I drove to work, parked for a minute and then climbed back in to leave. When I went to crank the Yota it acted like the battery was dead but that couldn't have been, then smoke started coming from behind the dash. I panicked, quit trying to crank it and opened the hood. It smelt like burning wires. When I inspected under the hood all my wiring and ground wire locations were in good shape and not burned up. I went back to crank it and it started right up. When I left everything seemed fine but now I have a bad hesitation while driving down the road and some power loss. I've already taken the complete dash out and checked for burned wiring and I don't see any. On closer inspection I found that the clip with 2 wires running to it, by the starter was exposed(both wires showing copper) I fixed that but I still have the hesitation. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas?? This is my daily driver and I need it back on the road asap! Any help would be greatly appreciated. My only idea is, if it's possible could I have shorted my coil out??

Last edited by Jcon; 05-08-2015 at 07:28 PM.
Old 05-09-2015, 12:36 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

If you saw smoke and it smelled like burning wire insulation .

Something melted.

were the wires on the starter melted perhaps that is what caused the smoke and smell??

If you coil was shorted or open it would not run at all.