General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Need Body Work Advice - Bondo, Kitty Hair and Fillers

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2005, 05:31 AM
Banned

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Talking Need Body Work Advice - Bondo, Kitty Hair and Fillers

I need some advice on filling in the rear panels on my 85 after the bob...one side more so than the other.

From what I've been told and read...as I have no real practical experience w/ any of this, but I don't mind learning by doing...i.e. bobbing the 85.

I want it to be durable and resist cracking, so the "kitty hair" (w/ fiberglass in it) bondo is what I should want.

The long hair is for the first layer (pita to sand).

The short hair is more for surface work.

Work in layers so things have time to cure properly.

Don't wait too long before starting to sand and try to get the shape you want before it dries.

I haven't really found much on the net as far as "how to's" for doing this so I'm looking for advice.

Any insight you can add is greatly appreciated. Links are welcome as well if you know of some good ones.

Brand products that work well and that you trust would be nice too.

I'm not looking for a show car finish here, but I do just want to do this ONCE...and it be done and not rust out, or crack, leak, etc.

Many thanks!

Old 11-09-2005, 05:37 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
found this forum while searching....
http://www.fibreglast.com/phpBB2/ind...bd241daf959880
Old 11-09-2005, 06:00 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
either fiberglass or bondo will work. fiberglass is harder to work with and more difficult to shape after it dries, but it's more durable.