General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

It's Got To Be A Scam Or Typo

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:29 PM
  #1  
drock2's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
From: Rochester, MI
It's Got To Be A Scam Or Typo

What!?!?!?!? Found this on craigslist like 15 minutes ago. That price seems way too good to be true. I sent the seller an email; hopefully I can get to the bottom of this.

http://iowacity.craigslist.org/car/468738646.html

Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:42 PM
  #2  
drock2's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
From: Rochester, MI
Geeze, the guy responded to my email quick. Here's what he had to say,

"Hi,i see from your email that you are interested in the condition of the car
so you have to know that the car is 100% working and looking very good,no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage,no flood or wrecked and it has a US clear title,the interior looks great,is brand new condition because I have took care of it like it was my baby(the car is located in Ephraim , Utah ready to be shipped).This is a regretful sale but unfortunately i
need money for my son , he is in hospital and i really need money for him.This is why i am selling the car so cheap.BUY IT NOW for $ 2.960 because i want to close a quick and smooth deal with a serious person.About the shipping i can tell you that will be done through TnT express and it will take no more than 3 days.The car will be insured at the shipping company for the transport
and the shipping cost is free because my brother work's at the shipping company and he has 1 transportation per year for free.If you are still interested please contact me asap.
Thanks"

Sounds fishy, if it's in Ephraim, Utah why was it posted in Iowa City's craiglist. If anyone lives out there check it out...maybe it's genuine?
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:44 PM
  #3  
JamesD's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,074
Likes: 1
From: Binghamton, NY
As soon as he said "US clear title: it is a scam. Flag it on Craigslist.

James
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:46 PM
  #4  
Tylercs's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
From: Chehalis/Ellensburg, WA
I don't buy it. Next he'll want you to wire money to him for a deposit. Its just sounds super shady I mean everything works out for him like he happens to have a friend who can ship it for free? I dont like it.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:50 PM
  #5  
Jay351's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 9,055
Likes: 10
From: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Looks like a complete copy + paste from ebay. Even the photos have the ebay watermark on them.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 01:55 PM
  #6  
fastkevman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
From: Pennsylvania
SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!!!
Someone had something else on here awhile back, I think it may have been a 4Runner but, I can't remember and they were questioning the price, we all yelled scam and were right.

That reply you got is the EXACT same one he got for a different vehicle, I remember because of the "Ephraim" thing, not a common word, trust me its the same, STAY AWAY FROM THIS BUM!!!!!!

SUPER SCAM ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:07 PM
  #7  
drock2's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
From: Rochester, MI
It sure had my heart pumping when I first saw it but I'd never buy a vehicle I couldn't see first. I wonder how much success he’s had scamming people, the stories so lame, you'd have to be crazy to send him $3000 and expect a nice $9000 truck delivered to your home 3 weeks later.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:20 PM
  #8  
mtsumedi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 254
Likes: 0
I came across one of those when I was looking for my wife's Avalon. After more research, I found the exact same car and pics on Ebay in a completed auction. I see them a lot on craigslist.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:26 PM
  #9  
frodin1's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,072
Likes: 0
From: NOW, Havasu!
I was shopping for a boat on Craigslist, and about every 3 weeks or so, there would be an add that was waaaaaay to good to be true, $3000 for a $10000 vehicle and the kicker is usually free shipping! All they need is one sucker!
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:31 PM
  #10  
apalmer1's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 652
Likes: 0
From: Bend, OR.
scam scam, as soon as you see them say "ready to be shipped" its a scam. only time you ever go for a car with an unbeleivably cheap price on craigslist is if its near enough for you to drive down and take a look.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:50 PM
  #11  
Albert.G's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
From: Thunder bay Ontairooo
deff a mistake
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 02:57 PM
  #12  
85toy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,116
Likes: 1
From: Arnold California
hit ctrl on the page and see the hidden text thats how you know for sure that it is a scam.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2007 | 03:35 PM
  #13  
fla-yota-4x4's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
From: north east florida(jacksonville)
scam!!!! its posted in jacksonville,fl to

http://jacksonville.craigslist.org/car/468975626.html
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Eggslinger
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
22
Jun 8, 2019 03:32 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:15 AM.