Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Part identification, and other questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2016, 06:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Part identification, and other questions

I have a handful of random newbie questions that I figured may as well get lumped into one topic. Just want to preface my potentially stupid questions by reiterating that I am a total novice and this truck and you guys are my only teachers! The truck is an 81 2wd 22R, and has plenty of minor problems for me to wonder about.

-So first, I'm trying to figure out what this part is? It seems like it maybe has something to do with emissions. The previous owner has it wired to the blinker fuse, so it comes on when the key is half-turned, and it has a loud, servo-sounding hum. Here's another image to give you an idea of its placement. I've been driving around with it humming in the last few months I've had the truck, but I disconnected it today, to try to determine what it was, except nothing about the performance seemed to change at all (maybe starting took more pumps, but could be my imagination.)

-Should I be concerned about this hole beneath my air filter hose? It looks like something was just cut right off there, maybe again emissions related?

-When I replaced the alternator belt, I was unable to fully tighten the lower adjusting bolt seen here. Is that supposed to be the case, or has something been stripped?

-Is this coolant hose supposed to connect to anything? Because it just just drips down to the ground.

-The other day as I was driving, this piece, (what I believe is called the return spring bracket) on the clutch pedal snapped in two places. I think this was a result of over-tightening of the return spring. The clutch still works (as well as it did before, anyway) and I was wondering if this would cause any long-term damage to the clutch, as perhaps it may not be fully disengaging.

Thanks for the help!
Old 09-02-2016, 11:23 AM
osv