Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Accessory line has no power.

Old 06-23-2012, 01:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Accessory line has no power.

Hello everyone, I've been lurking these forums for a while now. I've learned a lot! This is my first post, so please bear with me on not knowing all of the proper lingo. I'm by no means a mechanic, but I am a very mechanical person. I've been fixing/making machinery all my life. Just never learned much about cars and trucks till recently.

I went to put a stereo into my 87 4wd pickup. And like the title says I have no juice what so ever over my accessory line. I've followed the wire as far as I can with out completely ripping all of the dash supports and panels out, and found no breaks or shorts anywhere. I did take most of the dash apart around the steering column.

Is it possible that the problem is in my ignition switch? If so how can I got about finding out? I have a multimeter and plenty of electrical tools. Just not much of a clue as to where I should be looking. Right now I have the stereo hooked up to the heater panel, but the stereo cuts out if I ever turn the fan on. Annoying!

Thanks!

P.S. I'm in the Battle Ground Washington area if any of you are able to help in person.
Old 06-23-2012, 11:56 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Wink

First of all I think we are all pretty clueless just what your talking about.

If your Truck had a radio the harness with a plug should be there in the truck

A few different places where you can buy the adapter to wire into your new unit.

If need be and the harness has been cut out you can use a spade terminal and a in line fuse to plug into the fuse block where the radio fuse would go..

It is easier to use the harness because then your all ready wired into the lights and have a constant power for the memory of the radio.

I would try and get the electrical manual for your truck.
Old 06-24-2012, 10:29 AM