86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

yes another head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 11:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation yes another head gasket

so im new to this so sorry if im shy on the details i just bought a 95 4runner with the 3vze and i blew my hg i think. it was driving fine and all of a sudden on my way home from work it spiked on my temp gauge a mile from the house so i let it cool finish getting home and of course the radiator is empty so after 2 hours or so i go back to the truck turn it on and refill the radiator i start getting white smoke out the tail pipe the only thing i did to the truck was take off the after market intake and put the stock one back on cause the after market one was to loud made a wierd noise so am i correct on the hg? and do i need a hole head set or just redothe gasket and get the head pressure checked and shaved . my buddy says i need a whole head set ,water pump, timing belt ,and that my rocker something or another ...please any info will be greatly apprciated.

Last edited by jrlydy; 10-08-2009 at 11:42 AM.
Old 10-08-2009, 11:50 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
first off, welcome.

If you are going to replace the HG yourself, might as well do the timing and water pump. Id get the head gaskets from the dealer and you are going to need new head bolts, they are stretch bolts and you do not want to reuse them.

Might as well get a whole gasket set and timing set.

Search around on here, I know there are lots of threads about HGs, this motor loves to blow them.
Old 10-08-2009, 12:26 PM