Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

WTF AFM!! the 3.0 doesnt suck it can't breathe!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2008, 07:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This may help some of you: https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...sida-s-137629/
Old 04-29-2008, 09:42 AM

ha, i did the supra afm swap... . BIG improvement on hills, but it started hard in the morning. maybe it was just cuz vegas is so much above sea level, i havent tried the afm here in san diego yet. its a good idea though!! i reccomend the supra afm for a 22re
Old 04-30-2008, 05:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hi guys
first off im new to yotatech and i cant spell very good,but ill do my best.

what do you think of this?
what if you take the afm off the intake tube and then mount it somewhere, then connect the air filter to the tube. connect a cable to the throttle body then to the afm flaper door and adjust it so when the throttle body is closed or wide open so is the afm door. would this do any thing bad? all i can think of is it running alittle rich if you have low rpm's and step on the gas full throttle.
Old 04-30-2008, 05:46 PM

Hey Guys,

Has anyone looked into using an Audi/VW AFM, they are the designers, of this FI system, are they not?

Thanks, Kiwi
Old 05-01-2008, 07:46 AM

Originally Posted by 90toy4runner
what if you take the afm off the intake tube and then mount it somewhere, then connect the air filter to the tube. connect a cable to the throttle body then to the afm flaper door and adjust it so when the throttle body is closed or wide open so is the afm door. would this do any thing bad? all i can think of is it running alittle rich if you have low rpm's and step on the gas full throttle.
Why would you do that?

Your engine isn't a linear system. It's air demand doesn't vary in a linear manner with throttle position. It's a fairly complex system that changes in volumetric efficiency, RPM, load, and atmospheric conditions out side.