Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Who covered up their rust with flares??

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2007, 09:44 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Who covered up their rust with flares??

I have rust on all 4 corners. I'm getting a new pass front fender from certifit, and was thinking of removing the rust from the rear & tiny bit on drivers side and installing flares on all 4 sides. I've been told a few people have done that or just installed flares to cover the rust. Can anyone post some links to those threads so I can get a better idea of how to do this? Also, what flares should I use? Bushwackers are nice, but pricey. These are cheap, but I duno if they are crap....I was thinking of the 2" flares.. http://www.car-stuff.com/cs_auto/mmp...+Fender+Flares

Here are some pics of my rig & the rust.
Old 09-12-2007, 09:51 PM

Hey, Im a mechanic and and a at home body work guy. Go for the flares, but if you dont get the rust out and seal up.. no amount of hidding is going to stop it from spreading.. and at some point its unfixable.

Body work, at least stopping the rust is pretty easy. Go buy a 25 dollar angle grinder from sears, get a heavy sand rings and sand down all the rust off. Maybe chisel or trim the rust on the big spots, grab some rust convertor and spray it on it.. this will help get any rust you missed. Sand it all down, and spray on at least 2 coats of primer. This will seal it, so no bare metal will rust. If you wanted to fill it in, and were going to cover it with fenders, go buy some bondo body filler.. its can at walmart or autozone for liek 14 bucks.. fill it in. Sand it even.. cover it. NOW, you wont have to worry about it spreading..

If you just cover it up, you will wake up one day and notice its spreading. Not pretty. Get it now while you can.