a very weird problem - YotaTech Forums

Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

a very weird problem

Reply

Old 07-07-2009, 01:09 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a very weird problem

Hi Guys

Ever since i fitted my new horns, when i press my immobiliser on/off, only the left side indicators flash? what on earth could that be???
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:17 AM
  #2  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anyone any ideas????
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 02:14 AM
  #3  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg,Mb Canada
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think maybe you need to be more specific. Not much information to go by.
cdextreme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 02:36 AM
  #4  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
normally, when i lock the truck with my remote, all the indicators flashed to indicate the truck being locked, now....only the left side flashes, and its been doing that from in and around the time i fitted my new horns, that may not have played a part but its very strangem all my indicators work fine when im using them normally but right side aint working with remote central locking
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:21 AM
  #5  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
still cant find the cause of this problem, no something else weird is going on, my indicators are acting up all together, sometimes i can flick ind and they will work fine, sometimes they flash once and then not work at all even tho the switch is still in the position?????
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 12:27 AM
  #6  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
my problem must be a weird one if no-one on here ever had it.....now im worried
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:17 AM
  #7  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
im gonna try replacing turn flasher relay, anyone know where i can buy one??
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:22 AM
  #8  
totally a bro
Staff
iTrader: (2)
 
vital22re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: kick yer face
Posts: 8,155
Thanked 36 Times in 19 Posts
check your grounds and power sources first. You may want to back trace your horn install to see if you left something unplugged or incorrectly wired.
vital22re is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 01:01 AM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeh ive done that, ive disconnected the horn again with no avail.....
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:04 PM
  #10  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Woodward, Oklahoma
Posts: 226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Had a friend have this same sort of problem with his truck. He replaced switches and flashers and nothing worked. Turned out to be a ground problem, so like the guy above said look your grounds over real good......regards.....Rick
fdp101452 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:32 AM
  #11  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when you say grounds, where do you mean? on the negatives of the batteries??
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:18 AM
  #12  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg,Mb Canada
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes that is the gorund side. Check from you battery to the block and the body ground. It t's off from the battery.
cdextreme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:29 AM
  #13  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
checked em with no luck, all seems fine there....wiring going to body work just beside battery is fine, took it off, cleaned it and its still happening, other grounds just dissapear into thick loom but up until there it seems fine
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 12:39 AM
  #14  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
since ive had a look at that and cleaned it all off, the indicators are working fine, they dont cut out anymore but....but....the alarm fob is still only making one side flash : (
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:51 AM
  #15  
Registered User
 
Lumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Just North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 6,086
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Almost sounds like you had hit some wires while you were playing with the horns? Do the flashers work when you use the turn signals? I'm assuming everything works as it should until you hit the button on the key to lock the vehicle?

There must be a bad connection from the box that makes the blinkers flash when it's locked. I'd redo the connections going to the side that isn't working. Just because it looks like the connections are good does not mean it is. I have had a few connections go on me and they looked fine. They corroded within the butt connectors and broke loose.
Lumpy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:53 AM
  #16  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeh they all work fine as indicators etc but its just when i press the fob....ive checked all the connections at alarm and they all seem fine...is there any other units like in the footwells that could have maybe got a smack??
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:01 AM
  #17  
Registered User
 
Lumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Just North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 6,086
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
I wish I could help more...Mine does not have the nifty beep beep. I'm not sure how it's wired. I think you have some corrosion in a connection...I've been wrong before though. What about the relays in the alarm box it's self? Does it have separate wires for each side?
Lumpy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:03 AM
  #18  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
McQuaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Republic Of Ireland
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do you mean "inside" the box? i havent opened it..but fuse by alarm and all is ok
McQuaid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:22 AM
  #19  
Registered User
 
Lumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Just North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 6,086
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
I don't know if I'd open the alarm box? I'm not sure what's in that. I was wondering how it made the indicators work. There has to be relays somewhere...
Lumpy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:36 AM
  #20  
Registered User
 
Outsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Do you have an aftermarket alarm?

cause it seems like a wire came loose.. I hate t taps
Outsane is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: a very weird problem


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: