86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

V6 transmission and transfer case

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2011, 07:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
V6 transmission and transfer case

Okay I'm a total noob to toyotas.. I have been a ford guy my short life, and always liked the look of the 1st gen 4runners. well got a steal of a deal on one, perfect body, not so good interior, and bad head on the 3.0. well I got the head fixed it's driving now yay! And I love it future plans are a 3.4 swap, 3 link/panhard front and 63's rear along with more goodies. Fabrication is easy.. Learning Toyota sofar not good.. Question is what transmission do I have it's the 5 speed so is that the 150f or 151f? And I want dual cases stock front 4.7rear with twin stick... But for the life of me I can't find any info that shouts out to me read this.. What are the benefits of running dual cases, what cases should I run and what is a better setup via gear wise? I understand the twin stick lucky me so any info help would be appreciated...
Old 03-15-2011, 07:45 PM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
150F
Need an adapter to run dual gear driven tcases
Yours is chain driven now
Dual cases offer tons of gearing options for crawling and are cool

Welcome to Yotatech

:wabbit2:
Old 03-15-2011, 08:30 PM

Originally Posted by waskillywabbit
150F
Need an adapter to run dual gear driven tcases
Yours is chain driven now
Dual cases offer tons of gearing options for crawling and are cool

Welcome to Yotatech

Thanks wabbit,
I plan on keeping this runner around for awhile, if not pass on to my kid.
Anyways, so I will need to get rid of the chain driven case, then get 2 gear driven cases to run dual cases? Then a adapter plate to mount to my 150f?
Old 03-15-2011, 09:41 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
YES