86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Possible rebuild on a 22re???'s

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 08:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible rebuild on a 22re???'s

Ok, i have an 88 4runner, 22re and may need to possibly rebuild it very soon. i have excessive oil consumption like you wouldn't believe. (I have had to add 1 quart per every 300 miles or so)

everything that I have researched says that it might be the piston rings and possibly the valve seats. what am I looking at spending here? is there anything else I should do if I get it rebuilt? I was thinking new rings, valve seats, and really not sure what else may need to be done. would they have to pull the entire motor out to do all of this or would they just have to pull the head off? any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!!

i am a newbie when it comes to this stuff so thanks for all of the replies!!
Old 10-08-2006, 09:06 AM

I have nearly $2k in mine but that includes assembly on the motor, Balance the motor, new clutch, new front cover, complete head rework with new valves, line bored, Crank turned, decked, .020 over, water pump, cam, metal backed timing chain set up, all new hoses prettywell everythign at all questionable. I wanted to put it in and not worry about it till it need a new chain around 100k so no corners cut.

Used Goza in Acworth. He's a little high on price but has a good reputation. He will let you bring in your own parts and I would recommend doing that on the timing chain set and I really like the mild cam I put in mine. He is using Rock parts and really not marking them up much over what you can get them for yourself.