86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Overheating... Again...

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2020, 03:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overheating... Again...

I recently replaced my radiator, thermo and coolant on my 1990 v6 4runner. Everything seemed fine beside now I do not constantly blow hot air. I can turn on the heat and it will only blow hot air for a couple of seconds until it goes back to outside air temp. My truck decided to overheat today on the 15 minute drive to work in 40 degree weather... By the time I pulled my truck in the parking lot, the temp gauge almost made its way to hot! I'm wondering, do I just need to do another burping of the system, or has something gone worse like my heater core going bad? I'm fairly new to this truck, (owned for about 8 months now) so any information is good information to me.
Old 11-05-2020, 06:16 AM

Received 164 Likes on 125 Posts
It does sound like trapped air in the cooling system to me. Several things/ideas:

Exactly how did you "burp" the cooling system? Sometimes you need to elevate the front end more to allow any air in the system to rise up & out of the system. Ramps are great for this but I have seen it done with just driving the front wheels up onto a 2x4. You are running it up to full temp, heater on, radiator cap off, while trying to burp the system? I usually let it run for a few minutes past when the thermostat opens, then give it some throttle for 30 seconds at 1500 RPM, several times, until I don't see anymore dropping of coolant level in the rad. Top off as needed. Make sure you have your overflow tank filled.