86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Newbie messed up throttle body

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2009, 11:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie messed up throttle body

I had to do an engine swap on my 89 4x4 pickup with the 22re. it had been bored once by the previous owner and when a ring broke and gouged the cylinder wall i decided to go with a long block. to long of a story to tell on that part. I am not really a mechanic but do what i have to do with a limited budget. I have the new engine in and started sounds great but the throttle only opens a quarter of the way. it seems that the cable for the throttle kick down to the automatic transmission isn't long enough. I am not sure if i have it on wrong or what. it seems like it can only go one way. the throttle cable from the gas pedal will pull it wide open but when the kick down cable is put on the throttle body it won't rotate far enough for it to open. i didn't mess with that when i had it off so i can't see why it would need adjusting. plus it needs an inch or two and i am sure not going to gain that from adjusting the nuts i don't think. I did have the tranny pan off to change the filter. I didn't touch anything other than the filter. my friend thinks i ruined it and shouldn't have ever dropped the pan. but i figure that is just routine maintance. the cable is still connected in the transmission and it looks like that cam is fully rotated and lined up right for the cable to come out of the transmission housing. Is there anything i might have done to mess this up? any ideas on how to fix would be great. I am frustrated and ready to be able to drive my rig again. after all archery season is here.
Old 09-10-2009, 12:42 PM

update