Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

input shaft bearing or throwout bearing?

Old 08-18-2007, 08:34 PM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
input shaft bearing or throwout bearing?

Hi,
I'm kinda new to the Toyota forums here, but thought this would be the place to ask for some advice.

I've got a 93 4x4 22re with 190k, that has been making some noise from the tranny. After researching this a bit I believe to have a bad bearing that is definitely transmission related. I believe it to be either the throwout or the input shaft bearing as these are my symptoms:

Trans sounds like has loose marbles when idle in neutral. When clutch pedal is pressed in the sound goes away. When engaged in gear there is a wind up sound with the rpm's...does not happen in 4th gear only, nor when coasting in neutral.

So I guess the next step is getting it taken care of. I don't think I will be able to do this one myself, so I am wondering how much to expect to pay a shop somewhere here in the Sacramento area to fix it without getting ripped. Is this something that a shop would do or would they just swap the whole trans? Should I do anything else while this service is being performed?
Old 08-18-2007, 08:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
as for price IDK, dose your clutch slip at all?

if it is either one they should be replaced at the same time as the clutch.
when I replaced my clutch the input bearing or pilot bearing was missing half of the ball bearings and my clutch was fine but I had bought a new clutch so it was going in.

ask a few shops how much they would charge to do a clutch and how much just to do the bearings my guess it will be close on labor for both.

I would also have the rear main seal replaced at the same time you are so close at that point.
Old 08-18-2007, 09:23 PM