Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

High Nitrous -> Error 71 -> No Smog Cert for you!

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 12:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High Nitrous -> Error 71 -> No Smog Cert for you!

Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to Yota's. I just picked up a 95 4runner v6 with the 3.slow 2wd with 123,000 miles. I need to pass smog to get it registered. This damn error 71 and high nitrous oxide levels resulted in me failing the smog test.

As part of general maintenance.

*I have replaced the dist cap, plugs, wires, and rotor.
*Oil & filter change
*Air filter change
*Tranny fluid and filter change
*New gasket for tranny pan
*Air filter change
*Replaced drivers side valve cover gasket
*replaced EGR vacuum modulator.

After all this I still have a couple of oil leaks somewhere. I need to trace those to the source. I am also getting code 71.

I have read that pouring the seafoam product in to the pcv hose may help. Can anyone tell me which hose that is? Or have a picture illustrating that hose?

I am not a mechanic or anywhere close to one but I can follow instructions. This morning I took out the gauge cluster on the dash to repair a light bulb for the check engine light. I followed directions I found here from another thread. After doing this i was able to attach the code reader to get the error code 71.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 10-11-2009, 07:24 AM

seafoaming can certainly help, however if you are throwing a code 71 the seafoam isnt' going to clear it. This is an egr system code. Did you hook the vac line back up to the new egr vac modulator? If so, sounds like the the egr valve it's self may be bad. Alot of people just unhook it, but they don't have to pass emissions like we do
Old 10-11-2009, 02:00 PM