Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Help with torsion bars? (pics)

Old 10-02-2009, 10:42 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Help with torsion bars? (pics)

I can't locate the torsion bar adjustment bolt on my truck. I've looked in the FSM, my Haynes manual, and I've read a few articles that have been linked on this site via the search button. To no avail, but I'm sure it's just because I'm a noob to suspension components.

First of all, after looking for my torsion bars for the first time ever today, I came across this:
Name:  downeytorsion.jpg
Views: 2608
Size:  69.1 KB

I assume that's a Downey aftermarket torsion bar setup. At first I was excited, but then I remembered how many people said that aftermarket torsion bars run really stiff. And I'll tell you -- my ride feels like friggin Indiana Jones at Disneyland.

This is the only thing I could see that could be my torsion bar adjustment bolt. Can you please tell me if I'm correct? If so, there's very little I can untorque them, which also made me upset.

Name:  torsionbolt.jpg
Views: 3207
Size:  61.2 KB

While Googling Downey, I read a few posts about their "economy" lift package, which involves thick t-bars and leafs. I have Downey leafs in the rear, which makes me wonder if the PO bought this package. Anyone know what I'm talking about?

Thanks for any help.
Old 10-02-2009, 10:51 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Name:  bolts.jpg
Views: 10052
Size:  146.0 KB

good enough, or do you need more?

Old 10-02-2009, 11:32 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Lol. Yeah, you're on the wrong end of the T-bar.
Old 10-02-2009, 11:58 PM

This time, it feels good to be wrong!

I'll check that out tomorrow. Wish me luck.
Old 10-03-2009, 05:55 PM

I think I need a longer adjustment bolt. The suspension is still really stiff, and it's all the way to here:

Name:  IMG_2393.jpg
Views: 2412
Size:  69.1 KB