86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Front shock mounts damaged...

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2010, 09:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front shock mounts damaged...

So... I'm a bit new to doing things like replacing shocks. I swapped out all my shocks over the weekend and did the ZUK mod. Everything went fine with the rear. But I messed up the lower shock mounts for the fronts. I was following the torque spec in the downloadable manual here, which said 18 ft lbs for the top and 101 ft lbs for the bottom... which I admit seemed a bit high, but who am I to argue with the manual?

So long story short I royally messed up my lock-washer and bent in my shock mounts. What's the proper torque spec for the front shocks? And will it be alright to leave the mounts bent in a bit or will it damage the bushings? Decrease shock performance? Or weaken it to a dangerous point? Or is it not really that big of a deal? What's the best way to proceed with this?

I have a 1992 Toyota Pickup 4x4 ext cab.

Thanks!

Last edited by Speedy_McTall; 03-22-2010 at 09:17 AM.
Old 03-22-2010, 01:47 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
I never realized there was a torque spec for those

you're talking about the mounting flange(s) on the lower control arm correct?

If you bent them in, I'd take the bolt back out, remove the shock, and take a large pair of pliers to the tabs and bend them back out into alignment with each other.

Keep in mind that they DO NOT point straight up from the control arm; they're kinda angled back towards the rear of the truck

Once they're parallel for the most part, slide the shock back in and bolt it up.