Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Engine swap questions

Old 11-19-2017, 05:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine swap questions

This is my first time doing an engine swap and I am going to ask some very rookie questions. I need to swap out my 22re and I am going to be getting a long block. What all needs to come off of my current engine? I already removed the intake, exhaust, and distributor. Also what gaskets am I going to need?
Old 11-19-2017, 06:44 AM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Originally Posted by Rebel Scum
This is my first time doing an engine swap and I am going to ask some very rookie questions. I need to swap out my 22re and I am going to be getting a long block. What all needs to come off of my current engine? I already removed the intake, exhaust, and distributor. Also what gaskets am I going to need?
Really depends on what you’re swapping in.
Old 11-19-2017, 06:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another 22re is what I am swapping
Old 11-19-2017, 07:00 AM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Originally Posted by Rebel Scum
Not a bad idea to buy two engine stands, it can be done without two but it will simplify things.

In short you need to remove and clean everything that attaches to the head, block, and crank shaft.

Valve cover, distributor, exhaust, block drain plug, oil pan, oil cooler, engine mounts, oil cooler, starter, knock sensor, oil pressure switch/sender, fuel pump filter, lower intake (and everything attached to it), egr valve, all the brackets on the front, balancer pulley assembly, flex plate or fly wheel, egr cooler plate. Probably some others I'm forgetting.

You'll likely receive a gasket kit from your builder, its coat effective for them to buy a full kit and send you what is left than to buy just what they will use.