Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Balljoint Spacer Information

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2006, 12:07 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Balljoint Spacer Information

DISCLAIMER: I am not a professional. I am offering these points as opinion based upon experiences I have had, and people I know have had, with ball joint spacers on Early IFS trucks and 4Runners (86-95). Keep in mind that modifying the suspension of any vehicle has its risks and dangers, and, in some states, can have legal ramifications. Do some homework on your situtation, this is intended as help deciding if you want Ball Joint spacers.

So, I have noticed quite a few threads asking about balljoint spacers and thought i throw in my $.02 based upon my experiences the last few years. Please, if you have the spacers, feel free to add to this, as it's only my experiences with them.

First off, you buy them here: http://www.sdori.com/

The second most popular question seems to be:
Can I fit X sized tire with balljoint spacers in the front
Yes and no. The man thing that jams people up with this is that, once the spacers are on, the truck sits higher in the front, which gives people the impression that they can fit a largrer tire. The problem is, that the spacers alone do not limit the upward travel of the suspension. The tire will still flex to the stock possition, meaning that a larger tire can rub the fender.

This can be solved two ways: Shim your lower A-arm bumpstops, to stop the arm lower, and thus keep the tire out of the fender, OR, do like i did, and just take a sawzall to the fender.

You have several options when installing your spacers. Some use them for lift. Others used them for a softer ride. If you add the ball joint spacers, you will immediately gain 1.5" or so of lift. However, you can then relax your torsion bars back so the truck sits back at stock, or slightly above stock, so that your ride quality becomes better. This is up to the individual. Either way works.