Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re new head, cam, timing kit

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2009, 07:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re new head, cam, timing kit

Well here's the scoop. My 1986 4Runner is tired. 283k. Leaking headgasket, fouled out spark plug stuck in cylinder head, valves in serious need of attention, and timing chain that needs to be changed. And then there's me for some reason thinking I would take on holiday project as if I didn't have enough else going on. Oh yeah, I'm not a mechanic either so this could get ugly. I'm hoping with the help I get from all of you, we can get through it. I've read a lot of rebuild posts and you guys get it.

Goodies: New Street RV head, 268c Cam, Timing Kit all from engine builder.

The bottom was rebuilt around 200k so I'm really hoping it's still ok. I don't have the time, energy, or cash to do a complete rebuild right now. We shall see what it looks like when I crack it open.

My parts came in today and I'm stoked to get this going. I'm going do some easy stuff tonight and see where it goes. Any and all help and advice along the way is welcome. Thanks...here we go!

Last edited by txclimber; 12-15-2009 at 07:31 PM.
Old 12-16-2009, 12:36 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the first timer head replacement / engine rebuilding club. Good luck. Take and post pictures.
Old 12-16-2009, 05:19 AM

just remember its hard to get the timing cover on after you torque the head down and take pictures of it before/as your tearing it down and that will make it easier on you too
Old 12-16-2009, 05:34 AM

Thanks flyingbrass. Last night went pretty well. I didn't get to do a lot, but somehow I was out there working for over two hours. Here's what I'm starting with:

Pretty good start. Drained all fluids. Removed radiator, fan, and shroud. Already broke a bracket on radiator. JB Weld to the rescue!