Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re engine rebuild????

Old 12-01-2016, 06:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re engine rebuild????

I have an '89 4runner 4 cylinder. Nothing fancy, just stock parts 95% original. It's old and has 240 miles on it. I am having some power issues and it is stuttering when accelerating. I had it looked at and had the throttle body and air flow sensor cleaned out. I had another opinion that the TPS might be bad, but the readings were fine from it. The current theory is that the ignition chain is loose and needs replacement. My second opinion (TPS is bad) thought that the chain should be fine.

I'm not a mechanic, I'm trying to learn what I can. I was told that if I replace the chain I might as well do an engine rebuild for $3500. I understand that the engine is old and I'm fine with doing an engine rebuild when it's needed.

Anyone have similar issues with their 22re engine? Any thoughts on what to look at?

Thanks for any input
Old 12-01-2016, 08:27 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by njbradjr
I have an '89 4runner 4 cylinder. Nothing fancy, just stock parts 95% original. It's old and has 240 miles on it. I am having some power issues and it is stuttering when accelerating. I had it looked at and had the throttle body and air flow sensor cleaned out. I had another opinion that the TPS might be bad, but the readings were fine from it. The current theory is that the ignition chain is loose and needs replacement. My second opinion (TPS is bad) thought that the chain should be fine.

I'm not a mechanic, I'm trying to learn what I can. I was told that if I replace the chain I might as well do an engine rebuild for $3500. I understand that the engine is old and I'm fine with doing an engine rebuild when it's needed.

Anyone have similar issues with their 22re engine? Any thoughts on what to look at?

Thanks for any input