86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1995 3vze Timing belt removal and replacement "With Lots Of Pics"

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 03:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Blurr
Rune, you are correct. I'm pretty sure my timing belt marks stayed lined up but this is relatively meaningless. If the pulley notches line up with the backing plate notch after 4 rotations then you know that the belt is properly installed. Thanks for the clarification!
Blurr...thanks for your input also, It's good to get positive feed back and I welcome all
I'm no expert on anything..... I'm always learning from others to better help me to help others
Old 07-31-2009, 05:20 PM

Thanks!!

It took two of us about an hour to figure out how to get the bolt off, I think 196,000 miles might have made things a little tighter.. I see the tensioner now, I sorta passed right by it, that explains a bunch... Can't thank you enough for the write-up and the help.. I'll let you guys know if it actually starts back up and runs in a few days...

Many Thanks!!!

Doug
Old 07-31-2009, 05:56 PM

I did mine thanks to you!!
With my laptop nex to me
Old 07-31-2009, 08:19 PM

I put the belt on and the tensioner was installed... So I cranked the engine over a few times manually to see in the engine marks lined back up. All the engine markings we in the right place, but as stated above the belt did not line back up, It was off by one tooth each revolution of the belt. (thanks for the head up.. it was one of those "is it me or.." Everything else appeared to work right.. Man this was a great post Buckz...

As for the job, it was pretty easy to do most of it, a little dirty with the fluids. The toughest part by far was getting the harmonic balancer bolt off, then finding the tensioner was a mental problem... Oh, I'm sure getting it back on with 172 lbs will be another adventure...