84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

My average man's build-up of a '85 pick-up

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2006, 09:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My average man's build-up of a '85 pick-up ***UP-DATE**

This will be just what the title says... An average guy building a capible truck. I wont be spending huge $$$ on this thing... but at the same time I wont be cutting any corners... well maybe a few... I'm not some kick @ss fabricator but at the same time I'm not a redneck engineer... just a good ol' boy. I'm sure some peole will have a different view on some of the dessisions with the truck... and maybe I will help someone along the way. Again... this is what I feel a average build should be... Some of you might have read this on pirate.. but oh well... over here it will all be together...here it goes!!!

Gotta love the south... Typical VA Yota Frame... Solution 1/4" boxed for 36" That will give me about 8" of "good metal" on both sides of the damage... Wish me luck...

The tow rig for good meassure... '98 Z71- 6" procomp- 35" procomp MT's-4.11's

KEY WORDS FOR SEARCH: frame fix rust rusty holes in frame fixing frame useing 2wd frame patcing rust

Last edited by rswords; 01-30-2006 at 11:55 AM.
Old 01-03-2006, 09:27 AM

More rust and holes then the H.M.S. Titanic...

New Solution...
Cut the ˟˟˟˟er off and try again...

A torch make removing things sooooo easy...

Think this would be a good wheel base for a rig? No?

The old frame...

The new frame... Off a long bed 2wd so the front-most mount for the bed has to move back... But other then that this thing is stout...

Our wonderful sophisticaded jig to ensure both frames had the same body mount locations...

I would like to thank Rob Love in Mathews for all his great work... He is doing a great job and I am feeling alot better about it then I thought I would.
Old 01-03-2006, 09:27 AM