Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

to rebuild or not to rebuild? (22-r)

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2017, 12:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
to rebuild or not to rebuild? (22-r)

alright guys i need help. I'm new to this hole forum idea and well new to just abut every thing with engines.

I picked up a 1982 2wd sr5 pick up with a blown head gasket (due to an over heat) the truck has 200000+miles on the engine (22-r). i paid 400$ for the truck figured it would be a fun prodject.

well i pulled the exhaust manifold, carb, intake manifold, rocker cover, rockers, camshaft (by accident), and then the head. cleaned all my gasket surfaces (I didn't bother having anything milled its a 400$ truck) put my new head gasket on and started putting every thing back together. I used new head bolts for a 22-re (they were 80$ cheaper),new intake gasket, new fuel pump,rebuilt the carb, put a new timing chain guides ect on, new clutch, new belts, new battery, new plugs/wires, oil, and was finally ready to start the truck (that ran before i took it apart). i primed the carb hit it with starter fluid and cranked it. the truck didn't start. i have spark i have fuel getting to the carb so i tested completion. my compression was supper low (between 80-90 on all 4 cylinders dry test) but jumped to 125 wet test. so i figure its my piston rings right?

so my question is, should i go to all the work to take apart the engine and put new pistons and bearings in,swap the engine, or cut my losses and scrap the truck? i don't plan to keep the truck i plan to sell it any thoughts would be truly appreciated.

thanks guys
Old 04-11-2017, 03:56 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
I got my '84 in similar condition for the same price. It has run very well ever since.

My first question is - did you (or a machine shop) check to see if the head was warped?
Also, did you do the compression test with throttle open or closed?
Old 04-11-2017, 04:30 PM

Received 602 Likes on 441 Posts