Odometer broke at 260,000 exactly? - YotaTech Forums

Go Back  YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > Pre 84 Trucks
Reload this Page >

Odometer broke at 260,000 exactly?

Notices
Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Odometer broke at 260,000 exactly?

Reply

Old 01-26-2015, 04:16 PM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
Odometer broke at 260,000 exactly?

OK, so yesterday was a weird one in the Toyota. In another post i showed my tank holding over 13.25 gallons. Then about 2 minutes after that i was picking my girlfriend up from work and had her take a picture of the Odometer as it rolled over.

Wouldn't you know that it stopped dead right at 260,000. Now it just clicks often (based on road speed) and i don't understand how this could have happened?!

Name:  IMG_2015.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  54.8 KB
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:16 PM
  #2  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
It worked for .7 of a mile before it died. I use my trip meter to measure fuel level.
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:07 AM
  #3  
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,069
I noticed my odometer getting sticky in my 83. The higher the number, the more sticky, probably because they don't roll very often so they start seizing.

It might eventually break free. I never rolled over the sixth digit on mine, but whenever I rolled the fifth digit, it would sometimes take 10 or 20 miles for it to finally click into place.

The alternative is to take the cluster out and play with the odometer to see if you can free it, which is technically maybe not legal (who cares, it's your truck), but definitely tricky. I messed with mine and while I eventually got it right, it's sort of a complicated little thing if you don't understand how it works, and easy to mess up.
83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:09 AM
  #4  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 18,809
Check to make sure your speedo cable to fully screwed onto the back Of the cluster and at the right rear of the t/c
possible the cable is not engaged or it has broke, or like you said your cluster failed.

since you were using you trip meter to calculate mileage i take it your has gauge is broken? Gps time
dropzone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 09:24 AM
  #5  
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,069
Yeah I guess another question would be whether your speedometer is working. If it's working fine, the odometer problem isn't the speedo cable.

I haven't had a working gas gauge in a vehicle for so long it almost seems like to have one must be part of some upgraded "package", like SR5
83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 11:05 AM
  #6  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
Speedo cable works fine. It melted on my exhaust manifold about 9 months back so i had that replaced with a new one. My speedometer is still reading. Guess i will just take it out and try to clean it, what should i sued to clean it up? I have already removed cluster a few times to fix some electrical issues.

i do with i had a gas gauge too
.
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:29 PM
  #7  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
Pulled the cluster part today and was able to fix the issue for the moment. Gave everything in there a good cleaning with a pipe cleaner and a tiny bit of alcohol. I had to run the mech backwards for quite awhile to get it all lose. then i blew it out with a can of compressed air. Then i put it all back together and lubed it up. Worked for over a mile earlier on a test run. Also messed with my gas gauge and i might be trying to work again. Only time will tell on that one.

Here are a few pics for others who need to do this.

Installed;
Name:  IMG_2019.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  55.4 KB

Unit pulled;
Name:  IMG_2022.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  97.4 KB

Stuck worm gears;
Name:  IMG_2024.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  76.5 KB

Name:  IMG_2027.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  79.4 KB

hope this helps. it was a fairly easy job.
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 05:40 AM
  #8  
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,069
Why does it look green where you are? That's not fair.

Nice work! All I remember from doing mine was that it was a bit confusing, and when I put it back together the first time, it was trying to go in reverse! But then I got it right.

Mine wasn't really stuck, though. I was doing the SR5 gauge swap, and wanted to set the donor cluster odometer to what my actual miles were.
83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 06:01 AM
  #9  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
81 Toyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 315
When you get up into the higher numbers on the OD the more cogs have to turn over and unless its lubed well it creates quite a drag to turn all those wheels...these vehicles are 30+ yrs old so usually the lube is all dried up...you did the right thing to clean and lube

Last edited by 81 Toyo; 01-28-2015 at 06:06 AM.
81 Toyo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 08:04 AM
  #10  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
It was pretty easy. 83, it is green because ii live in Oregon. I would advise you stay away, nature is not for everybody. haha Montana is green as can be most of the time too, least where the trees grow.

All in all, an easy job. if yours stops working just spend an hour with it, clean it then lube it. Should be good for at least another 250,000 miles
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:31 AM
  #11  
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,069
Nice. I saw what looked like sun and green grass. Montana is brown and white right now...except of course for the evergreens.

Yes that's what my friend would tell people who were visiting, that we'd run into, who would say something about how nice Montana was..."Don't tell your friends"
83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:04 PM
  #12  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1st Gen Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest Wonderland - OR
Posts: 169
Montana is probably a better kept secret at this point. Oregon has been the #1 destination for people moving for the past 2 years, and Alaska has every damn camera crew in the US up there right now making lousy TV shows, it will be the same there soon. haha.

Last edited by dropzone; 05-02-2015 at 05:48 PM.
1st Gen Crawler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 05:54 AM
  #13  
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,069
I know. It's too bad. I was in Oregon for a month this summer and loved it. But yeah, a lot of it is a bit too "discovered" for me, already. That'll be the whole world before long. Glad I won't be around to see it.
83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 02:32 PM
  #14  
Registered User
 
propane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 11
I had one die at 298k, I was so ticked I couldn't get it to 300 So close..
propane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 06:48 PM
  #15  
Registered User
 
Abraham Contreras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by 1st Gen Crawler View Post
Pulled the cluster part today and was able to fix the issue for the moment. Gave everything in there a good cleaning with a pipe cleaner and a tiny bit of alcohol. I had to run the mech backwards for quite awhile to get it all lose. then i blew it out with a can of compressed air. Then i put it all back together and lubed it up. Worked for over a mile earlier on a test run. Also messed with my gas gauge and i might be trying to work again. Only time will tell on that one.

Here are a few pics for others who need to do this.

Installed;
Attachment 123861

Unit pulled;
Attachment 123862

Stuck worm gears;
Attachment 123863

Attachment 123864

hope this helps. it was a fairly easy job.

Bringing back an old thread because i am trying to fix my odometer that is not spinning. Everything else works fine including my trip only the odometer wont spin.

My question is does the needles just pop right off? Ive been trying to pop it off but it wont budge and id hate to break it.



.
Abraham Contreras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 08:18 AM
  #16  
Registered User
 
Punjab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Crawlorado
Posts: 53
Looking at the original poster's images it appears he unbolted the entire speedometer/odometer gauge unit from the cluster housing and accessed it from behind. Therefore leaving the needle and face plate all together.
Punjab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 08:33 AM
  #17  
Registered User
 
Abraham Contreras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Punjab View Post
Looking at the original poster's images it appears he unbolted the entire speedometer/odometer gauge unit from the cluster housing and accessed it from behind. Therefore leaving the needle and face plate all together.
I did notice that after i had posted my comment so i decided to do the same and not mess with the needle.

I am wondering if he just cleaned it as is or if he took it more apart from the back. I am not sure if i should be able to freely spin the dials and if so i cannot spin mine as is in place. Or would i have to pop them out to be able to spin it freely and clean it?
Abraham Contreras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 02:51 PM
  #18  
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,611
Originally Posted by 1st Gen Crawler View Post
..
​​​​​​. I had to run the mech backwards for quite awhile to get it all lose. then i blew it out with a can of compressed air...

Stuck worm gears;
Attachment 123863

Attachment 123864

hope this helps. it was a fairly easy job.
Originally Posted by Abraham Contreras View Post
I did notice that after i had posted my comment so i decided to do the same and not mess with the needle.

I am wondering if he just cleaned it as is or if he took it more apart from the back. I am not sure if i should be able to freely spin the dials and if so i cannot spin mine as is in place. Or would i have to pop them out to be able to spin it freely and clean it?
​​​​He rotated it in reverse to get the grit out of the worm gear. See the white gear with sand grit on the right and its matching gear below it.
Co_94_PU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 04:06 PM
  #19  
Registered User
 
Abraham Contreras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Co_94_PU View Post
​​​​He rotated it in reverse to get the grit out of the worm gear. See the white gear with sand grit on the right and its matching gear below it.
Thats what i am currently trying to do but the gear won't rotate either way. It has a tad bit of play to move back and forth but hardly at all.

Abraham Contreras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 05:01 AM
  #20  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 784
Originally Posted by Punjab View Post
Looking at the original poster's images it appears he unbolted the entire speedometer/odometer gauge unit from the cluster housing and accessed it from behind. Therefore leaving the needle and face plate all together.
thats true, and that's what I did, but the needle will have to come off to pull the gears apart.
mine was gummed up and I cleaned all that off but it is still binding up. I think a tiny gear cog broke.
95yoda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Obmi
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
51
10-04-2015 11:30 AM
puddlepirate
84-85 Trucks & 4Runners
4
09-29-2015 08:02 PM
mtrdrms
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
3
09-26-2015 07:12 AM
_Nicco_
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
35
09-21-2015 03:06 PM
yoterr
84-85 Trucks & 4Runners
4
09-15-2015 03:47 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: